LNG1 as a Parallel Kinematics Machine

For some time I’ve been wanting to build a parallel kinematics machine tool and I’ve done my homework, but nothing replaces getting your hands dirty.

LNG1 is coming along slowly but its dual-drive X axis has been operational for some time, so I got the idea of using it as the basis for a simple two-axis PKM test platform. It was only a matter of cobbling together two parallelograms using DIY store hinges and some slotted extrusion beams. Here’s the result :

I rather like the way this machine moves. I’m thinking of using such a design on small CNC mills and lathes. This being only a two-axis PKM, the forward kinematics formulas are very simple, which will allow me to concentrate on their actual real-time implementation.

The servomotors used in this test are two EvoDrive ST-23’s from EvaRobotics. This specific type of fully-integrated servo isn’t optimized for CNC applications but it is very handy if you need to position something using simple commands through RS485, RS232 or USB.

This entry was posted in CNC and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment