Blog Hiatus and New Directions

Hi everyone, very nice to have you on my blog.

You’ve probably noticed nothing has happened here in quite a while. This doesn’t mean nothing has happened in my lab, what it really means is that nothing has happened that I wanted to share with the world. Just as I wrote on my “Who Am I” page (check the menu at the top of the page), I never intend to make myself into an “open book” for the entire world (and the NSA) to read.

In fact, a lot is happening in my lab, but also in my personal life, and it’s all good. Nuff said.

That being said, as this blog keeps getting readers I find it important to tell you what’s up. There’s a lot, really, but it comes down to three things.

First, one of the projects I’ve been working on (let’s call it project “X”) is getting to a point where success is only a matter of time. It’s an important project that will have an impact on many of my other projects, not just related to CNC but robotics in general. I’m concentrating efforts on this project but until it is complete I don’t want to tell anything about it on an open blog.

Depending on how things pan out, this project might end-up released as an open-source project, or I may turn to crowdfunding, or it may be the basis for a good old-fashioned business. All I can say right now is that it is sufficiently complex to eat most of my working hours and that’s one reason this blog hasn’t been updated in recent months.

Second reason, all my cameras are broken. All the pictures and videos on this blog were shot with a Canon IXUS 850 and an early Sony hard-drive camcorder, both of which were 7 years old and had seen a lot of use. I cannot recommend these two brands too highly : beyond the specs and performance they were extremely reliable until they starting failing, and even then, as we say in my business, there was a “graceful degradation of performance”, which is a fancy way of saying they didn’t just die on me without a warning. The end-result however, is that my latest videos have been shot with a smartphone. I don’t like it, and I doubt you like it either. Unfortunately at this point the only reason I’d have to invest in new photo / video equipment is this blog, and that’s not a good enough reason. Ergo, I can’t show you much of what I do right now, even if I wanted to.

Third, and most important as far as this blog is concerned, I have been learning a lot about blogging as a way to make a living and it has become clear to me that the format I chose for CNCExpert is suboptimal in many ways. Trusted friends have been advising me on how to create a blog that could sustain my lifestyle and activities so that I wouldn’t need a “boss” ever again. Given that I consider time to be my most precious resource, I’ve decided to give it a go.

Right now I’m figuring out what the new blog would be like. All I can tell you for now is this :

  • It will not be limited to CNC. It will also cover electronics, embedded computing, FPGA, mechatronics, robotics and other fields of engineering in which I’m heavily involved.
  • It will be oriented more on sharing tips and tricks, and less on showing off my projects.
  • It will not be started until after Project X is complete, somewhere in 2015.
  • Once it does start, however, it’s going to be updated weekly as least.

Don’t worry, when the new blog is up, you’ll be the first to know ! Until then, I’ll keep updating CNCExpert.

In the meantime, if you want to donate photo or video equipment for this future blog, please get in touch. I can pay in beer and knowledge, and depending on how far you live and what you’d like to donate, I can come pick it up in person.

Until next time !

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment